SWT8043

Top Load Washer 8kg

Top Load Washer 8kg is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 252.
  • y_2020, m_2, d_26, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_252
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_SWT8043, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_simpson-anz

Simpson 8kg top load washing machine with 3 Energy Star rating, Time Adjust function, everyday fast wash programs, Save Favourite and durable glass lid with soft closing.

Key Features

  • Save your favourite program
  • Auto water level sensing
  • A control panel that is easy to use
  • Quick 20 minutes program for small loads
  • Soft closing lid
  • Agitator wash action
  • Delay end option to plan when your wash finishes
  • Time remaining display
  • No mess detergent drawer
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Washes great I Aquired the washing machine in December the best item we have brought
Date published: 2020-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from simpson no more First impression when installing the machine was its weight, it is light, very light Fired the machine after having to get under the machine with garden shears to cut a number of cables installed in factory for transit The machine is noisy and clunks through the washing cycle Had the machine on AUTO water level, we came to realize machine was leaving cloths dirty on AUTO water level, AUTO water level might save water but this is useless if does not clean clothes Over the last month I noticed some dampness on the laundry floor and then about 2 weeks ago the there was water everywhere, moved the machine and could see the machine had been spewing water and detergent out of the rear of machine Called Simpson, Simpson just gave me the telephone number of a service agent, warranty is suppose to be free in home service, (I live in the country), Simpson quickly stated service agent would charge travel fees Well its been 2 weeks now, multiple calls to agent, no one has come to look at machine. Machine is in laundry with a plastic tarp under it and towels around it for when it next has a spew. Bought machine on sale with wine and towel giveaways, wine and towels were quite good pity about washing machine attached, maybe Simpson could change their giveaways to tarps and towels to better suit this machine
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from notmuch going for it bought this and the spin has to be done twice as the clothes are still full of water plus the cap on top of the agitator fall off every time you pull the clothes out of the machine
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy I bought this washing machine back in May after my previous Simpson Top Load Washer died after 28 years (during which time I only had to have it fixed once). So you can imagine the electronics on the new machine daunted me a little because my old only had a knob to turn to set the wash you wanted. But the new one is very easy to use. The only thing I do not like is the drawer that detergent is put into. If I take it out completely at the end of a wash to empty out water from the softener compartment, it is very hard to get back in and I can imagine myself breaking the plastic bit where the drawer goes in when the machine gets older. I love the strong lid with the glass top. After hearing of Samsung washing machines catching fire I was relieved to hear from the salesman that for this model, Simpson is the only washing machine manufacturer that has encased its electronics so that similar fires cannot happen with these washing machines.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful machine I brought my Simpson 8kg top loading washing machine about 4 weeks ago and I just love it. It replaced a Simpson machine that I had brought 23 years ago and I hope to get the same length of service from this one. It is quiet when in operation and does the job beautifully. It knows exactly how much water to use for the amount of washing in the machine and I love being able to change the settings to be able to use my favourites. Only one small problem I have found is that when filling with water there is a water ‘hammer’ which I have never had before. The water cuts in and out while filling which causes the hammer noise but this all seems to stop after a a minute. Otherwise this machine is brilliant, I love it.
Date published: 2019-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Swt8043 Brought my Simpson 8 kg Easter 2017 September 17 came up with error message e20 It drains water then it comes up with error I put water more water in by hand and it drains that out but will not start to spin I contacted Simpson and I have been told it will take over a week to get someone to come out to have a look
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Washing Machine I purchased my new Simpson washing machine after my last Simpson washing machine gave up after 14 long years of service. As my last machine was a 5.5kg capacity, and my circumstances have changes I opted for the 8kg model. I am very happy with my new Simpson washing machine and can't believe the amazing capacity.
Date published: 2017-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome love it Love this washing machine works like a dream awesome features so many to choose from but very easy to work. Washes the clothes brilliantly water and power efficient could not have bought a better 8kg to loader washing machine thanks Simpson I am a very happy customer
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I am not happy! Having gone from a wonderful Maytag Washing Machine which was in its late 20's and it needed major repairs, I went for this Simpson machine! I find it excessive with time to do anything, you cannot as with old machines just put it on for a few minutes to ring out something! shortest cycle which doesn't rinse properly is 20 minutes, a full cycle is over an hour and it doesn't have a full machine of water so everything is crushed where as before I could hang it up and it dried without wrinkles!! It is also so deep in height that I can barely get the washing out from it! Unfortunately there is not many other choices for top loaders! All in all, it is a dud and I hate it. Wish I had paid double its worth to get my Maytag fixed......
Date published: 2019-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dissapointed We bought this machine around November 2017 from memory and we had to have it replaced in the first week, the next machine has been ok but with e few issues, from reading other reviews it seems that we are not the only people with issues. When we first start the machine it makes a racket (clanks and knocks), we haven’t timed it but it takes maybe 30 to 40 seconds before it starts adding water And the soft Close lid worked for a few months and now just drops quickly so now we hold the lid to let it down. On a positive it does wash quite well.
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simpson 8kg top loader This unit replaced a 9 year old Simpson of almost identical features. The previous machine was quite good but had many annoying nagging beeps and had began to show signs of ageing. The new SWT8043 is quieter and seems to handle the washing more efficiently than the previous model. It is less inclined to stop because of being unbalanced and leaves no lint on the washing. I avoided the impeller types after reading the many unfavorable reviews. All up I would recommend the machine on our experience over 3 months - If the wife is happy so am I.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working Well I was originally doing an online price comparison for Fisher & Paykel washing machines but luckily I was directed to the Appliances Online site. Once there, I was able to compare brands, sizes, functions, capacity, price etc. I decided on the Simpson 8kg top loader & am really glad I did. This machine is so easy to operate (unlike some machines) & it washes like a dream. Another satisfied customer. I've made several Purchases with Appliances Online & they will always be my first point of call for any appliance I may need in the future.
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Machine I purchased this machine a month ago. The first time we started the machine it was making a sounded like it was trying to pump out. We checked the manual, contacted Simpson who were unable to assist but advised a technician would attend. We contacted the retailer who said the machine must be faulty so bring it back. A day later the technician arrived and stated that this is normal for the machine to go into pump out mode on start up. Maybe the manual should reflect this. No problems since, happy with this washing machine
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth your time We replaced a 16 year old Hoover with the Simpson 8kg top loader. The old machine would wash a full cycle in 35-40mins now it takes 1 hour & 4 mins. When filling with water it stops & starts, can take over 5 mins to fill, even on auto fill. The machine is sooo loud making like clunks & it sounds very sick, when spin drying the whole house shakes. Once started you cannot change cycle options. You can’t see what stage the cycle is at. The finished beeping is too soft you can’t hear it. Wish I’d read the reviews before buying
Date published: 2019-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too automated I bought this washing machine about a month ago. The first one had to be replaced two days later because it would not start filling, just kept pumping. I really dislike the 25, 45 minute cycles and the auto water level, which is never enough. Today I had a pair of track suit pants, a blouse and some underwear, used the 45 cycle and still not enough water, and the really bad part is you cannot add more. If you change the program it empties out and starts filling again. So I just have to use the regular cycle and choose the water level I want. One good thing is the spin. My old machine (also a Simpson that I loved and had for over 20 years) did not spin nearly as dry, but it was old! I would change it if I could! Is there a way to add extra water that I am not aware of?
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointment My Australian made 25 year old Simpson Encore would run rings around this machine, I was most upset when it died. There was no machine on the market that met my requirements (total control on all cycles, and living rural, knowing the water volume for each cycle). Quality control at Simpson leaves a lot to be desired, my machine was not connected correctly internally, spewed precious water everywhere. The replacement machine had fallen apart inside and was useless. The installer managed to fix the first machine, it works ok, but I know it's not going to last a lot of years. Being of senior years I chose a top loader, I found front loaders too hard to manage. My research tells me that no manufacturer has come up with a great machine, so many complaints over the board. Consumers loose again.
Date published: 2020-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good features There is one thing I am not happy about my washing machine! There is no volume on it to tell you when the cycle is finished!! Our laundry is outside the main part of the house and our last washing machine we could hear when it was finished!! I rang up about this and they said the volume is set at the factory, well that doesn’t help me!! I now have to have my phone with the timer on so I know when the machine has finished!! A lot of wasted time if I forget to put my timer on!! Not happy about it!!
Date published: 2019-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect size for blankets or a full family load Love the size and design however it is quite noisy. The start button is temperamental, even after turning the machine on and off at the power point and on the dial. Does do a great job clay getting everything clean
Date published: 2017-07-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing Bought less than a year ago and poor quality, keeps on stopping, either the water doesn't go, or it just stopped halfway of cycle, frustrating cos no error sign at all!
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Loader 8 kg I recently upgraded my old Simpson washing machine for a new one (old one still working fine, passed onto my son). I have had the Simpson Top Loader machines for the past 40 years and find they are very reliable and easy to use machines. I have always used cold water for washing as it is more economical and thought I might have a problem dissolving the washing powder in the dispenser but after reading in the instructions that I should dissolve the powder in hot water first and then put in the machine I have found the clothes have washed even better than before. I like how I can see how much time is left before the cycle ends. I find the spin only cycle a bit long (16 minutes), my old machine would spin nearly all the water out in a few minutes. Very happy with my new machine and would recommend to others.
Date published: 2018-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ample programs Have now been using this machine for a month. Very happy with it and use it most days. Easy installation.
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Simpson 8 KG Washing machine I have had Simpson Machines for 30 years.This is the WORST machine I have ever had.It is continuously out of balance.I have had service attendants check and set up the machine to no avail.It vibrates all the time.When I balance the wash it adds extra time.It is very slow to wash.I would like to change it over for a Simpson that really works as I am used to.Extremely unhappy former customer.Would not recommend to my worst enemy and never buy a Simpson product again.
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simpson machines I have had my new Simpson washing machine for 3weeks now and it's fantastic
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good machine I think that I chose the right model for my household.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Amazing, washes so well! So happy with the product,
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not happy I bought new 8kg top washer just prior to Christmas. first load, I thought, holly smoke this unit is noisy. well, to say the unit is noisy is an understatement. Especially on the spin cycle, it sounds like a plan is taking off and jumps all over the place. I don't think I should have to straighten and move the machine away from the wall after every load. It is the noisiest machine I have ever had. When I asked for a service tech to come out, I was told that I would be charged $145 even if there was nothing wrong with it.. I cant believe a machine could be so noisy. Am very disappointed in this product. I would be very interested to receive a reply from Simpson as to the possible cause of the noise and if there maybe something they can do about it or do I just have to put up with it cause that's the way it should be????????!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good machine that could be improved! I do like a lot about this machine. It's size of 8kg is very good. Good styling in any modern laundry. Is an improvement on my old 5.5kg. It's not quiet, but not too noisy either. Some washing settings are just too long and I have to admit I have not read through the manual as I haven't had it for long! I do feel it should automatically switch off after the cycle is completed. Overall, a very good machine and for $608 I feel it is very good value
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the size! I have had this washing machine for about a month and I love it! It’s got such a big barrel and I can fit a lot more in. I also love all the different wash cycles and the shorter washes are a bonus. I’m having a problem with the fabric softener dispenser, it fills up with water and doesn’t dispense the fabric softener... not sure how to make it work. This could just be user error. Apart from that fabulous product highly recommend.
Date published: 2019-11-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Modern technology. The 'state of the art' standard of this item in my opinion has 2 undesirable characteristics. One is that the automatic water level is I consider to be too low, the other is when filling the detergent dispenser the detergent instantly flow out the back of the sliding tray and onto the load below before the the machine its cycle. Apart from those this washing machine is what one would expect of modern advancement in technology.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Appalling customer service I bought my machine in early December 2019. During every cycle there is a loud screeching sound which sounds like metal against metal. I have tried to call but had to wait too long on my limited call allowance. I have sent an email weeks ago now, but no response. I would love to say it's a great machine, as my previous Simpsons have been, but the appalling customer service outweighs the machine's performance.
Date published: 2020-02-19
  • y_2020, m_2, d_26, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_252
  • loc_en_NZ, sid_SWT8043, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_simpson-anz
PRODUCT PROFILE
Domestic warranty details (yrs)
2
Capacity (Kg)
8
DIMENSIONS
Total height (mm)
1076
Total width (mm)
670
Total depth (mm)
680
Height with lid open (mm)
1490
Depth with hoses (mm)
730
ENERGY
Energy Star Rating New
3
Energy consumption cold water (kWhr/yr)
130
Energy Consumption Warm (KWhr/yr)
460
Water efficiency star rating
3
Water consumption (litres)
109
WASH PROGRAMS
Number of Programs
11
Toploader Wash programs
delicates,hand wash,rinse and spin,heavy duty,Regular wash,Cold wash,Bedding,drain and spin,Daily 45,Quick 20,Favourite
Wash options
wash temperatures,variable water level,Rinse option,spin selection
weight (kg)
8
Dispenser
bleach dispenser,Softener dispenser,Powder or liquid detergent dispenser
On screen stain guide
No